Posted on

Stokes’ summer!

As the dust settles from the heavy roller we can reflect on an amazing summer of cricket.

Firstly, let’s not underplay the significance of England winning their first Cricket World Cup. To witness an English win in any World Cup is something truly remarkable and as many of us were not alive when we won the 1966 World Cup at Wembley and didn’t make the trip to Sydney to see the RWC in 2003 this is probably, but hopefully not, a once in a lifetime occasion. I’ve seen some great sporting events over the years but this was all the more amazing because England made it as hard as possible losing seemingly simple group matches to leave themselves requiring back to back victories against Australia and India to progress. The Final was possibly the greatest EVER game of cricket. All the pre-tournament hype was about the run fest we would have, could anyone hit the magic 500 off 50 overs. In the end it was far more exciting, a tense low scoring final which brought the bowlers back into the game. Never has a match see-sawed from no hope to almost certain victory so many times and that was before we got into the drama of the Super Over. I’m delighted that so many Engage clients were able to access the game and I am sure their guests will be eternally grateful for the experience as I certainly am.

The summer had only just got started and after a brief first test match with Ireland at Lord’s it was head long into the Ashes. The series has had so many twists and turns with the next session always seeming the most pivotal and will be remembered in my mind for three things; Steve Smith’s return to Test cricket and his incredible form throughout the series, Jofra Archer’s spell at Lord’s on Saturday afternoon when he upped the pace and struck Smith ruling him out of the third test and by doing so prevented him breaking even more records; and finally Ben Stokes, the hero of the World Cup Final, delivering one, if not THE best ever innings to win the third test. It was a sensational knock which started with gritty determination and ended with destructive hitting unlike anything we have seen in the fourth innings.

As with all good stories there was the perfect ending with England winning the fourth test in unbroken sunshine to tie the series at the Kia Oval.

 

Engage guests enjoying their ICON Club hospitality at Lord’s & the Kia Oval this summer.

 

Register your interest to join us in 2020:

England v West Indies Test series

Thu 4 -Mon 8 June – 1st Test v West Indies Kia Oval 11am

Fri 12-Tue 16 June – 2nd Test v West Indies Edgbaston 11am

Thu 25-Mon 29 June – 3rd Test v West Indies Lord’s 11am

England v Australia IT20 series

Fri 3 July – 1st IT20 v Australia Emirates Riverside, Durham 6.30pm

Sun 5 July – 2nd IT20 v Australia Emirates Old Trafford 5pm

Tue 7 July – 3rd IT20 v Australia Emerald Headingley 6.30pm

England v Australia ODI series

Sat 11 July – 1st ODI v Australia Lord’s 1pm

Tue 14 July – 2nd ODI v Australia Ageas Bowl 1pm

Thu 16 July – 3rd ODI v Australia Bristol County Ground, Bristol 1pm

England v Pakistan Test series

Thu 30 July-Mon 3 Aug – 1st Test v Pakistan Lord’s 11am

Fri 7-Tue 11 Aug – 2nd Test v Pakistan Emirates Old Trafford 11am

Thu 20-Mon 24 Aug – 3rd Test v Pakistan Trent Bridge 11am

England v Pakistan IT20 series

Sat 29 Aug – 1st IT20 v Pakistan Emerald Headingley 5pm

Mon 31 Aug – 2nd IT20 v Pakistan Sophia Gardens, Cardiff 2.30pm

Wed 2 Sept – 3rd IT20 v Pakistan Ageas Bowl 6.30pm

England v Ireland ODI series

Thu 10 Sept – 1st ODI v Ireland Trent Bridge 12.30pm

Sat 12 Sept – 2nd ODI v Ireland Edgbaston 12.30pm

Tue 15 Sept – 3rd ODI v Ireland Kia Oval 12.30pm